To move a volume group form one system to another, perform the following steps:
Make sure that no users are accessing files on the active volumes in the volume group, then unmount the logical volumes.
-a nargument of the
vgchangecommand to mark the volume group as inactive, which prevents any further activity on the volume group.
vgexportcommand to export the volume group. This prevents it from being accessed by the system from which you are removing it.
After you export the volume group, the physical volume will show up as being in an exported volume group when you execute the
When the disks are plugged into the new system, use the
vgimportcommand to import the volume group, making it accessible to the new system.
Activate the volume group with the
-a yargument of the
Mount the file system to make it available for use.